November 2018 Newsletter

Dear Members,


Below are a number of updates for your calendar and recent competitions results and winners:


Winter League 2018/19


We’ve arrived in November and the 2018/19 Winter League kicks off this Saturday 3rd November (Tomorrow). As in previous years, there will be hotly contested prizes in both the singles and doubles categories. Should you wish to enter the doubles please enter your names on the entry form which will be on the notice board in the Pro Shop and will remain open for entries until Sunday 11th November.  The format of play is stableford on the first 14 hole of the course and 7/9ths of your handicap.  Handicaps will be calculated by the computer when you sign in and cards will be available.


End of Year Scramble and Presentation of Prizes Sunday 11th Nov


Just a reminder, that our End of Year Scramble takes place Sunday 11th November. This will be a shotgun start at 9:30am. We will be doing a draw for teams on Saturday 10th November so please ensure you have entered via BRS by 5pm on Friday. Entry into the scramble will be €10 (€5 for juniors) and we will collect this at the registration in the Elk Bar from 8am on Sunday, where tea and coffee will be served.

There will be a meal immediately after the Scramble at which prizes for the scramble will be presented to the winning teams and we will also present outstanding medals, Golfer of the Year, Birdie King, Matchplay prizes, Junior Prizes and a presentation to our victorious Donadea Trophy Winners.


Recent Competition Winners:


The Club Matchplay Winners:

Singles – Sponsored by Future Proof Construction:

Winner: Tom Browne


Doubles – Sponsored by Prestige Print & Design:

Winners: Mick Curran & Tom Browne


Mixed – Sponsored by Jerry Lambe:

Winners: Greg Edwards & Rebecca Edwards


October Bank Holiday Opens

Monday 29th October

1st: Laurence Ronan 39pts

2nd: David Burke 36pts

3rd: Michael O’Neill 36pts


Sunday 28th October

1st: Brendan Daly 41pts

2nd: John McFall 39pts

3rd: Denis Mahon 39pts


OCTOBER MEDAL – Sponsored by Portman Graphics

Winner: Kieran Feely 77 - 8 = 69


Class 1: Ronnie Carroll 80 - 8 = 72

Class 2: George Cheung 85 - 13 = 72

Class 3: Tom McIntyre 89 - 19 = 70

Best Gross: Darryl Litton (7) 83


VPAR 13th October - White tees

Winner: Kieron Ryan (9) 5


Class 1: Kieran Feely (8) 3

Class 2: Keith Dempsey (15) -1

Class 3: Eamon Devoy (22) -1


Singles Stableford 20th October – Green tees – sponsored by CSD Engineering

Winner: Pearse Daly (10) 41

Class 1: Steven Byrne (5) 39

Class 2: Peter Pedersen (13) 37

Class 3: Alan O'Hara (29) 37


V Par 29th Sept – Green tees

Winner: Derek Reid (19) +5


Class 1: C Shelley (11) +2

Class 2: Peter Pedersen (14) +2

Class 3: Kevin Barber (24) +2


Lady Captains Prize to gents – 22nd Sept


Winner: Declan Cullen (16) 70


Class 1: John Mulligan (5) 70

Class 2: Ciaran Lambe (17) 73

Class 3: Michael Lysaght (19) 70


Kind regards,

Ian O’Shaughnessy

Hon. Secretary