Newsletter November 26th 2012

Dear Members,

Annual General Meeting

For those of you who were not able to attend yesterday's Annual General Meeting the following is a summary of just some of the news from the meeting.

Having served on Committees in a variety of positions over several years Pearse Daly, Cuan Mac Aogain and Keith Turner stepped down for the coming year.

The Committee elected for 2013 is as follows:

  • Captain: Noel A Kelly
  • President: Tom O'Shea
  • Vice Captain: Les Broderick
  • Hon. Secretary: John Horan
  • Hon. Treasurer: Mark Reilly
  • Ex Officio: Niall Robinson

Committee Members: Ciaran Curley, Greg Edwards, Ronnie Carroll, Kieron Ryan.

The vacant Trustee position is being filled by John Britton.

In their Addresses to the meeting both the incoming and outgoing Captains thanked all the Members of the Committees for 2012 and 2013 for agreeing to serve the Club.

Resort General Manager Mark Howell addressed the AGM and outlined the "probable" membership fee arrangements for the coming year. It should be stressed that these matters have not been finalised but Members will receive full details from the Resort in coming weeks.

  • Individual Gent Member: €899;
  • Individual Lady Member: €499;
  • Couple Memberships: €1,249;
  • Junior Member: €100.

In addition to these subscriptions the usual Clubs' Levies will apply.

If an existing Member introduces a new Member to Tulfarris the existing Member will receive €100 discount off their membership.

The Resort will apply a €50 credit to each Members Card (one credit per couple also) for use in the Bar and Restaurant.

The existing 10% discount on food and beverages will be increased to 20%.

There will be a Members discount of 30% on accommodation prices (does not apply to other special deals on offer).

Each Member will receive five complimentary Green Fees for guests (five per couple also).

The reciprocal playing rights which we have at Faithlegg are being extended also to Moyvalley.

An installment payment arrangement is being considered.

There will be certain "terms and conditions" applicable to these arrangements and they will be spelt out in the communication from the Resort.

In a gesture which was much appreciated not just by the recipient but also by the Members present, Mark Howell offered Honorary Membership for the coming year to longserving Member Noel Fannin. Congratulations to Noel for this well deserved recognition.

On your behalf I send the Members best wishes to the incoming Captains for 2013 - Noel A Kelly and Ita McCarron.

Post AGM Reception

After the AGM the Members enjoyed some finger food, kindly provided by Resort Management and we had the presentation of prizes for some of the significant year long competitions held over the past twelve months.

Congratulations to Dave Reid who won the Gold Medal, to Lar Doyle winner of the Singles Matchplay and to John and Pat Curley, winners of the Doubles Matchplay. John Curley was also acknowledged as Golfer of the Year for 2012.

The Cock of the Walk winning team of Paul Fitzpatrick and Pearse Daly, John Horan and Brendan Daly and Niall Robinson and Jerry Lambe were presented with commemorative jumpers to mark the Club's winning of this "major" competition.

Winter League

In order to ensure that as many people as possible get a chance to win each week, the Committee has decided that each weekly winner will have a one shot reduction in their handicap each time they win. This is an "internal" cut only for the duration of the Winter League and will not affect members handicaps in any other competitions.

These reductions will only apply for deciding on weekly prizewinners and will not affect the points players get towards their overall Winter League totals.

2013 Irish Open

The Irish Open will be hosted by Carton House from June 27 to 30 inclusive in 2013. It is tradition that different Clubs participate by means of Hole Marshalling and Tulfarris has been invited to "host" a hole.

Play on Thursday and Friday will be from 7.30 a.m. to 6.00 p.m. and on Saturday and Sunday from 8.00 a.m. to 6.00 p.m. and volunteers will be required to "man" their hole during these hours until the last match has passed through.

Volunteers for these marshalling duties will each receive an admission ticket per day and one car park admission between two marshals. A packed lunch and "uniforms" will be provided. In addition each marshall will be entitled to a green fee voucher for each day they attend.

If you wish to be a part of the Tulfarris Marshalling Team please let me know by email to not later than Monday 3 December.

Christmas Scramble

Members are reminded that the Christmas Scramble will take place next Sunday 2 December with a shotgun start at 9.30 a.m. You can get your name down in the usual ways.

ELS Christmas Outing

Finally, the ELS (for over 55s) Christmas Outing tees off at 10.30 a.m. on Thursday 6 December and if you are interested in coming along - and even bringing some guests - let Noel Reilly know at or on 086 2553530.


John Horan,

Hon Secretary