Newsletters November 6th 2011

Dear Members,

End of Year Scramble

This morning's end of year Scramble was slightly delayed and slightly curtailed (to 15 holes) due to the morning frost on the course. Blue skies and sunshine were the order of the day from 10 o'clock onwards and a really enjoyable days golf ensued for the almost 70 golfers who took part.

The prizes were sponsored by Ann Horan, Lady Captain and Madeleine Drew Byrne, Lady President - thanks to them. The presentation of prizes took place in the Hotel Bar and the winners on the day were:

Nearest the Pin:  John Britton

Longest Drive:     Ellen Kelly

3rd:  Mary Curley, Steven Byrne, Ollie Whelan, Les Broderick (45.1)

2nd:  Catherine O Mahony, Liam O'Loughlin, John Curley, Alan McIlroy (43.5)

1st:    Claire Lambe, Paul Fitzpatrick, John Hyland, Pat Mahon (43.1)

Congratulations to all of them.

Winter Leagues

The Winter League starts next Sunday 13th November and will be played over fourteen holes each week. The normal approach will be to exclude holes 7,8,13 and 14 unless conditions dictate otherwise. Entry to the singles Winter League is automatic for everyone who plays. In order to enter the doubles each pair has to register their names on the Notice Board in the Club House. There is no extra entry fee for the leagues just the usual Sunday fee.

Competition Secretary, Les Broderick has posted more complete details on the Notice Board for your information.

Annual General Meeting

Members are reminded that the Annual General Meeting for 2011 takes place after golf on Sunday 20th November at 1.00 p.m. Golf on the day will be a shotgun start at 9.30 a.m. and will be played over fourteen holes. Set out below for the information of Members are the Motions received at the closing time of 1p.m. today. The AGM will be followed by a finger food buffet kindly sponsored by Resort General Manager, Mark Howell.

We have one “Constitutional” motion:

“That Rule 9.11 be amended to provide for the election of one extra Committee member, bringing the total number of Committee members from ten to eleven, being the five Officers and six other members.”

Proposed by Niall RobinsonSeconded by John Horan

We have two “General” motions:

“A person must have been an ordinary Member of the Club for at least a period of one year in the previous three years before being eligible to win the Captains or Presidents Prizes or the overall Golfer of the Year Award”.

Proposed by Kevin Higgins. Seconded by Tony Galvin.

“Given the significant extra work involved at present and given the additional bank charges incurred with the present system of collecting, accounting for and banking weekly payments for competitions and “twos” entry fees and also for Club matchplays it is proposed to replace these withan annual competition entry fee to be charged to all Members at the beginning of the year which will cover members’ entry to all these competitions with the exceptions of the Captains and Presidents Prizes and Social Scrambles”. 

Proposed by Cuan MacAogain. Seconded by John Horan.

We look forward to seeing as many Members as possible at the AGM.

New Rules of Golf Booklet

Finally, I can tell you that we have received copies of the new Rules of Golf 2012/2015 as published by The R&A. Individual books are now available for Members and can be collected in the Golf Shop.


John Horan, 

Hon Secretary