Newsletter August 8th 2010

Dear Members,

All the results of the Lady Captains and Captains Prize competitions were announced at last nights Captains Dinner in Tulfarris.

For your information and for the record the following members took home the silverware.

Lady Captains (Frances Lambe) Prize:

Winner: Madeleine Drew Byrne 59 pts

Runner Up: Ita McCarron 52 pts

Third: Ann Daly 48 pts

Round 1: Lyndsay McGuire 35 pts

Round 2: Ann Horan 29 pts

Nearest the Pin: Emer Carey

Long Drive: Ann Murphy Daly

Lady Captains Prize to the Gents: Cuan MacAogain

Captains (John Hyland) Prize:

Winner: Joe McConville 144

Runner Up: John Staunton 149

Third: Peter Pedersen 151

Gross: Brendan Daly 162

Fourth: Gavin O Flaherty 151 (on countback)

Fifth: Niall Robinson 151

Sixth: Ciaran Curley 152 (on countback)

Past Captains: Brendan Daly 152

Round 1: Richard Cowley

Round 2: Sean O Shea

Nearest the Pin: Niall Robinson

Long Drive: P N Whelan

Captains Prize for Juniors: Jay Curley 148

Captains Prize to Ladies: Frances Lambe

On the night special presentations were made to Richard Cowley and Jerry Lambe to mark their Holes in One in recent weeks.

Special tributes were paid to Resort General Manager, John Caffrey, and his staff - particularly David Brady (Course Superintendent), Norma in the Golf Shop, Derek, Darren and their colleagues in the Bar and Restaurant - for all their great work in preparations for these events and over the past year. It really is appreciated by the members.

The Committees of both the Mens and Ladies Clubs were the subject of kind comments from both Captains.

Finally, on behalf of the members I would pass on thanks and congratulations to the two Captains, Frances and John, for the huge effort they have made over the course of their year todate and specifically in ensuring that their Captains Prize Competitions and Annual Dinner were so successful and enjoyed by so many. On behalf of the members tokens of our appreciation were presented to them last night as mementoes of their year in office.

Regards in Golf,

John Horan,

Honorary Secretary