Newsletter August 19th 2012

Dear Members,

At last night's Captains Dinner the prizes were presented for the Captains Prize competitions winners for 2012 under the direction of MC for the night, Vice Captain Noel A Kelly.

Lady Captain Dorette Lotter with the assistance of Competition Secretary, Ita McCarron presented the ladies prizes.

Lady Captains Prize to the Gents:  Cuan MacAogain

Nearest the Pin:  Catherine Hayes
Longest Dive:  Mags Ryan
Day 1:  Mary Curley
Day 2:  Maria Carvill
Past Captains: Catherine O Mahony
4th:   Madeleine Drew Byrne
3rd:   Mags Ryan
2nd:  Frances Lambe
Overall Winner:  Lindsay Maguire

Captain Niall Robin with the assistance of Competition Secretary, Les Broderick presented the gents prizes.

Captains Prize to Ladies:  Frances Lambe

Nearest the Pin: Charlie Magee
Longest Drive: Paul Reid
Juniors: Alan Kelly (154)
Veterans: Tom Browne(163)
Past Captains:  Jerry Lambe (142) 
Day 1:   Sheamus McGrath (71)
Day 2:  Colum Smith (72)
6th: Cuan MacAogain (151)
5th:  Padraig Whelan (150) 
4th:  John Curley(149)
Gross: Liam O'Loughlin (160)
3rd: John McCarthy(146)
2nd: Ronan Bonfield(144)
Overall Winner:  Jerry Lambe (142)

Both Captains congratulated all the winners and thanked all those who had taken part. Special tributes were paid to the Resort staff for their work in presenting the course so well and for the excellent fare on offer at last night's dinner. Mention was made specifically of Resort General Manager, Mark Howell, Course Superintendent David Brady, Golf Manager, Norma Storey and Tulfarris PGA Professional Thomas O'Neill together with Derek Bellini and all his staff who looked after the guests so well at the dinner.

On behalf of the members presentations were made to Niall and Dorette for all their work during the year. Given her imminent departure for Canada good wishes were expressed to Dorette on behalf of both clubs.


John Horan,

Hon Secretary